Not a Soul Seen in Rollinsford

Rollinsford is a bump-on-a-pickle town, quaintly tucked by the Salmon Falls River on the border of North Berwick, Maine. One day in December while I was passing through, I decided to park and wander through the quiet streets. The whole place felt oddly abandoned. A sole car sat idling on main street for the duration of my wanderings; I felt the eyes of a woman sitting in the passenger seat dogging me as I walked.

As I neared the end of the main drag, I clapped eyes on an unnerving sight.

bra_modified

 

My camera died soon after snapping that one. This was the first of several visits to Rollinsford to capture the town’s lonely gray contours.

 

use boat ramp at your own risk_modified

 

lake_modified

 

raindrops_modified

 

All photographs © Elizabeth Hopkins, 2015.

Leave a Reply

